For more information on boat training and licensing requirements in the state of Missouri, visit the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division website. By law – As of January 1, 2005, anyone born after January 1, 1984 and operating a vessel on missouri Lakes must have a boat security card issued by the Missouri State Water Patrol on the vessel with valid photo identification. View the full boating laws of the State of Missouri Here are some of Missouri`s most important boating laws. Be sure to visit the Missouri State Highway Patrol – Water Patrol Division website for complete information about Missouri`s boating laws and information about boating safety courses. Missouri`s DWI laws apply to all motorized vehicles, including boats. When people get on a boat, they seem to be carried away by the fun and the scenery, forgetting that they are using a piece of heavy machinery at high speed, which they cannot do under the influence of drugs and alcohol. The same rules that apply to driving also apply to a vessel with regard to alcohol. The legal blood alcohol limit in Missouri is 0.08% All you have to do is make sure that you and all other passengers wear and enjoy proper life jackets! If you`re boating after sunset, you need to make sure you have the right lighting. Penalties for boating under the influence include a Class B offence + completion of a boating safety course approved for the first conviction With the aim of promoting boating safety and reducing boating under the influence of alcohol or incidents, the Designate a Master program has been established. If you were born after January 1, 1984, you will need a Missouri Boater Safety Card stating that you have passed the Missouri Boater Education test. Missouri residents may have this status added to their driver`s license instead of carrying their boat license. It is illegal for persons under the age of 14 to operate boats or motorized vessels in Missouri waters unless they are under the direct supervision of a parent, guardian or other person 16 years of age or older, or unless the motorized boat is anchored. Violations of Missouri`s life jacket law can result in a $1,000 fine and up to a year in prison.
If you are interested in participating or have any questions, go to the “Contact Us” section of the website: safelake.org or call 573-346-2227. Upon participation, waterfront restaurant captains can receive a kit with a key fob and a participating business brochure. Designated captains present key chains to participating companies for free lemonade during their visit. Depending on the class of motor vehicles you have, some of the requirements required to operate your boat in Missouri will change. Participating companies will receive a free list in the brochure and a placement on the map. In addition, a link to the websites of the participating companies will be made available free of charge under lakeoftheozarkswatersafetycouncil.com. Are you looking for information on a maritime subject? Click on the links below to explore our collection of Internet resources. If you know of any other websites that you would like us to add to the list, please send the URL (website address) to info@lozwatersafetycouncil. Please note that the LOZ Water Safety Board is not responsible for the content of external websites. Here is our list so far: In addition, it is illegal to allow a person under the minimum age to operate a motorized boat unattended.
For any motorized boat or sailboat over 12 feet: You must register and title a motorized boat with the Missouri Department of Revenue within 60 days of purchase. This includes jet skis! More than 80% of people who drown said they do not wear a life jacket. If you and all your passengers have properly approved life jackets, you can minimize the risk of drowning. The Designate a Captain program, a program similar to the Designated Driver on Land program, offers restaurants the opportunity to promote water safety in their facilities and give back to these safe and sober captains.